Three Girls, a Guy and a Guinea Pig (and Other Various Creatures)


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Catching up

It took long enough, but the new layout is now up. The base coding is from Dynamic Drive's div frames and would be technically valid if not for the crummy premade search coding. I had actually done my own, but had one little hiccup, later learned what I was doing wrong only to discover that I had accidentally overwritten the file. Maybe I'll re-do it again later, but for now, here's the edited DD one. It looks exactly the same either way, but it's a pride thing, I suppose. I like being able to boast that I did my own work without using a base. If the link up there disappears, than I've probably switched the coding.

Technical notes aside, I really haven't written much this year at all, have I? I still love you, Diaryland diary, really. No, there isn't really much going on still, I suppose that's the problem, or if there is something happening, I'm just too lazy to write about it. So, my mom tried to kill herself in April. At least that's what she wanted us to believe, I'd assume. There was a struggle for a steak knife that ended when I had to call the police to come cart her away to the hospital.

I don't know if I should feel bad about it or not, but that week she was gone was actually very peaceful, and I enjoyed it. The night they took her away, I stayed up late listening to the radio just...celebrating. It felt good having her out of the house after coming home to a drunken mom almost every week, so trashed out of her mind that you could see the deadness in her eyes. Drinking isn't a new thing, my parents have always drank on the weekends ever since I was a kid, but I've never seen my mom drink so much that she'd dead to the world. Ever. One night, she came in covered in flecks of dust and dirt from gathering wood from the shed, completely unaware. It would've been comical, if not depressing.

I'm trying to enroll in the Job Corps. Currently, I'm getting the needed paperwork together, then I need to make an appointment to see the admissions counselor so that I can take a tour of the building, schedule my interview and all that. I read over my record from high school, it's pretty damn bad. Karen says not to worry about it, considering graduates don't actually need to go to Job Corps anyway. I think this is a pretty good idea. From what I've read, it's sort of like living on a college campus, except we get paid for our work. This'll probably mean we'll have to do small jobs other than in the classroom if we're being treated as employees rather than students.

But I really need a good kick start. Karen wants me to go to Harford Community with her, but honestly, I don't really want to go there. I want to go see what it's like to live someplace else and be on my own like an actual adult for once. I don't have any real experience living on my own like she had. Dad keeps pressing me for information on this place, but I just don't feel like telling him. He gets way too overprotective about me just being away from home- he called Karen's house when I was spending the night to see if we were okay. I'm technically an adult (by age, anyway), so I just don't see why it should matter.

We're suppose to look professional when we attend the interview, and I just don't want my dad standing by my side. I want to prove to myself that I can handle things on my own because one day I'll have to. Besides, visitors need police clearance to enter the building, and he won't have a pass.

2:00 am - June 12th, 2009

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

disclaimer

notes

DiaryLand

random entry