Three Girls, a Guy and a Guinea Pig (and Other Various Creatures)


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One push foreward

Job Corps finally returned my call today- two weeks after I actually made it. I don't know why I scheduled it for only four days away. One side of my brain is telling me take the earliest one possible! You need to get enrolled!, while the other battles against that with well...I dunno. Can we really be ready in that amount of time? All of the paperwork from school and my doctor was collected months ago and I only need a few more things (including a pretty work outfit), so I guess it'll be fine. Everyone in the family has a habit of either doing things late or at the last minute anyway.

The part of me holding back is more of my inner child. I'm honestly a little afraid of growing up and learning to do things for myself, but I know that I have to anyway. That's the whole point of enrolling in this program in the first place. I look at how much happier Karen is after attending college and I want a piece of that independence for myself. I've known her since elementary school and she's always been an introvert like me, but now she's hardly reluctant to speak up and make her opinion known among her peers. Maybe this will be the thing to cure me. I can only hope.

I start my diet officially today. I pigged out yesterday and I think I'm ready now. I've even tried setting some rules for myself:

- less meat (don't eat it every day)
- less sugar (no drinks containing sugar, less sweets)
- only one small snack at night (something light like those yummy Quaker Oats rice crisps)
- dont go back for seconds! (this is a tough one)

and well, that's all I got for now. I've actually managed to get to my goal weight of 110, but I still don't like the extra weight on my thighs and arms. My thighs have been a big problem for me since second grade. My grandpa and dad are complete sugar fiends and always used to bring things like pound cake, chocolate milk and hard candies home. Our family's diet is still a problem, now that I think of it. The only time we ever attempted to eat something decent was when my mom went on a dieting craze and started experimenting with Tony Little's recipe book. Though I wouldn't exactly call that food decent.

But I'm happy that the world of food has evolved. Now we can actually have stuff that tastes good and is good for you too. No more rabbit food or gross green drinks that taste like grass. I'm a fan of sugar substitute myself and am looking into some of the vegan replacements to eggs, milk (my body doesn't handle regular milk well) and meat, or more specifically- beef.

I'm not some sort of diet nut, I like to eat. But with a low-fat meal, I'll feel less guilty about eating more.

12:15 am - October 01st, 2009

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

disclaimer

notes

DiaryLand

random entry