Three Girls, a Guy and a Guinea Pig (and Other Various Creatures)


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I've been trying hard to find another site to host my diary, but can't seem to find one that I'm 100% comfortable with. I've been a member of this website since middle school, changed my username quite a few times, and just became used to it, I guess. The main problem is that I've been searching for a place that doesn't have a social aspect to it. I'm so sick of everybody feeling the need to share EVERYTHING they do online! I'm sick of "blog views" and "followers" and "comments", everything is about numbers now, and I hate it. It spits in the face of the values I've held growing up, back to a time when "never give out your personal information online" was a thing. Sure, I've got my own personal thoughts and opinions written down here, but I'm not doing it for followers or popularity, and I don't put up photos of myself or family.

I've just been sick and tired or the general attitude people exude on the internet lately. So much hate all rolled up into a concentrated ball so heavy, I can feel it from the other side of the screen. What a downer. I somewhat understand though, it's easy to vent yourself online. In the real world, we're forced to tolerate others for fear of punishment (like at school or work), when online, we can easily say how we really feel without that fear of punishment, because we've disassociated ourselves from people. To us, these are strangers, we've never met them, and most likely never will, so their words have no weight on our lives, therefor, we do not really value them or their opinions. Even I have to admit, that there are times it feels rather good to go out of character for a while, and argue with somebody just for the hell of it. Seeing too much of this, however, really puts me off.

10:43 pm - March 28th, 2015

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

disclaimer

notes

DiaryLand

random entry