Three Girls, a Guy and a Guinea Pig (and Other Various Creatures)


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beyonce Knowles

Is it just me, or does Beyonce have a habit of sprouting self-satisfying hypocritical bullshit when it comes to feminism? Maybe I just listen to the radio too much, but sifting through her songs, I find there are mixed messages. One point, she's "I don't need a man, I'm independent! You can't touch this!", then the next you know she's shouting things like "oh babe, I want you so much, touch me."


"I'm the one tonight

Getting bodied, getting bodied, getting
bodied, getting bodied

Want my body

Won't you get me bodied

You want my body

Won't you get me bodied"
-- Get Me Bodied


"Cuz i realized i got

Me myself and i

That's all i got in the end

That's what i found out

And it ain't no need to cry

I took a vow that from now on

I'm gonna be my own best friend"
--Me, myself and I

I haven't actually heard those songs, thank goodness, but it still really confuses me. Maybe she's just trying to write about her experiences in failed love, etc? Even so, hello! Beyonce, you're famous, everyone wants a piece! What did you expect? To fall in love, move into the fucking castle with prince charming and live happily ever after while still making thousands of record sales? Bitch, please!


Take your self-pity and twisted message of women and shove it, cause I don't want it.

9:22 pm - April 01st, 2008

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

disclaimer

notes

DiaryLand

random entry